Summer Reading

10Aug09

I’ve been spending a lot of my summer on trains back and forth to where my family is spending the summer (yes the Hamptons) and that’s given me time to do some pleasure reading. While I spent last summer tackling the Patrick O’Brian books, originally inspired by my love for sailing but quickly became its own obsession, this summer I decided to go in a different direction.

While I spent the early part of the summer reading upmarket fiction like Netherland and Man Gone Down, both highly admirable, I wanted to really have some fun reading for a change. So I downloaded a whole bunch of free samples on my Kindle and decided to buy the ones I liked the most–in print form (As much as I like my Kindle for reading proposals and manuscripts I just don’t derive the same pleasure when I’m just reading for fun).

I immediately fell in love with Lee Child and starting reading the Jack Reacher novels. They are just a blast and he’s maybe the coolest main character I can remember. Total badass, morally superior, lady killer, just a ton of fun to be around. So, for anyone looking for some good reading fun this summer, go for the Reacher books. And while I’m at it, Scott Waxman the agent is very much on the look out for this kind of contemporary, testerone-infused, fast-paced thriller. If you’ve think you’ve got that ready to go, send it on over to scottsubmit@waxmanagency.com.

5 Responses to “Summer Reading”

  1. 1 Nancy Keim Comley

    Have you tried PATIENT ZERO by Jonathan Maberry? I did everything one handed until I finished it.

  2. Count me in lovin’ me some Jack Reacher! I’m certainly hoping, as a reader, that there’s a writer out there with a MS to fit your bill — because, dangit, Lee Child can’t write ‘em fast enough.

  3. 4 Bethany Crandell

    Oh!! Gotta love Jack Reacher, he’s like McGyver and Chuck Norris wrapped up into one with a pinch of Fabio mixed in. (I meant that in a good way. not like long hair, creepy accent way.)

  4. I am working on BBAW (Book Blogger Appreciation Week) and your blog, Waxman Literary Agency, has been nominated for an award! More information will be forthcoming, but please e-mail me your e-mail address as soon as possible, within the next 24 hours at the latest. My e-mail address is skrishna [at] skrishnasbooks [dot] com. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

