Holly Root query break & general submissions update

08Jul10

Sabbatical (from Latin sabbaticus, from Greek sabbatikos, from Hebrew shabbat, i.e., Sabbath, literally a “ceasing”): a rest from work, or a hiatus, often lasting from two months to a year.

I’m not interpreting “sabbatical” in the literal sense of a year, but I (Holly) am going to take a query sabbatical. I have found so many of my wonderful authors through queries and I am a huge believer in keeping those channels open. But I also know that rest is restorative, and so in the interest of catching up, getting a clean slate for Fall, and preventing query burnout, I am going to be closed to queries from July 15—September 6.

If you’re waiting to hear from me on a partial or full, the goal is to reply to everyone by Sept 6th–and if you haven’t heard from me on requested materials (full or partial manuscripts I specifically requested, not queries) by Aug 15, please check in!

If you’re waiting to query me, you can do so in the next week (if you’re ready) or I’ll look forward to hearing from you after Labor Day.

The rest of Team Waxman–Scott, Byrd, and Farley–remain open to queries. And because I adore you, blog readers, I even got the skinny on what they’re dying to see (or seeing too much of!) right. this. minute:

If you have a great thriller, Scott is very actively looking for them, so it’s a good time to try him.

Farley’s wish list right now includes natural history & science, humor and pop culture.

And Byrd is NOT looking to represent projects in SF/F, YA or children’s.

Submissions details for all three available here.

Have a wonderful summer!

4 Responses to “Holly Root query break & general submissions update”

  1. Well, I was planning to query my next project sometime around October, so this works out perfectly.

    Have a happy query break, Holly:)

  2. I hope you enjoy your break and have a restful summer. :-)

  3. 3 Perri

    Thanks so much for the update. It really helps us get a sense of when, where and who.

  4. Thanks for the update! Enjoy the well-deserved rest!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 98 other followers

